Herefordís Black and White House Museum opens on 1st April
Following a major refurbishment Herefordís much loved Black and White House Museum will be opened by Colonel John Foxís Regiment of Foote at 11:00am on Saturday 1st April.
The Civil War re-enactment Regiment will march through the town centre on the morning of Saturday 1st April before ceremonially opening the Black and White House Museum at 11am. They will then remain in, and close by, the museum all day welcoming visitors and recounting Herefordís dramatic role in the English Civil War.
Formerly known as ĎThe Old Houseí, the Black and White House Museum demonstrates what life was like in Hereford during the seventeenth century, using authentically re-created rooms, original furniture and everyday family items.
Housed in an impressive and original Jacobean building that started life in 1621, the new museum will also encourage visitors and shoppers to stay longer in the city centre.
As part of the investment by Herefordshire Council there are new displays on every floor, the Museumís ground floor will provide free access to a shop offering a wide range of replica historic goods, local craft products and souvenirs, along with an information and reception desk and a unique 3D model of Herefordís city centre in the 17th century.
: 28/03/2017 19:57:52